New Mexico

· The yellow field and red symbol colors are the colors of Spain. First brought to New Mexico by Spanish explorers in 1540. On New Mexico's flag we see a red sun with rays streching out from it. There are four groups of rays with four rays in each group. This is an ancient sun symbol of a Native American people called the Zia. The Zia believed that the giver of all good gave them gifts in groups of four. These gifts are:
· The four directions - north, east, south and west.
· The four seasons - spring, summer, fall and winter.
· The day - sunrise, noon, evening and night.
· Life itself - childhood, youth, middle years and old age.
· All of these are bound by a circle of life and love, without a beginning or end.


Contact Us     Terms of use